LuGang Old Street / Folk Arts Day Tour
    • From: $189 /Per Car
    • Order Online
    • Tour Code: TWTXG8003
    • Trip Duration: Approximately 8 hours
    • Language: Chinese
    • Trip Characteristics:

      Roundtrip from Taichung high speed rail station or Hotels in Taichung
      Lugang Folk Art Museum:US$5

Itinerary

Lung-Shan Temple → LuGang Mazu Temple → Lugang Old Street → Lugang Folk Art Museum → Lugang Wu Duen-Hou Lantern Workshop → Taiwan Glass Gallery → Ribbon Museum → Rainbow Military Village
  • Lung-Shan Temple

    The Longshan Temple in Lukang was built in the end of Ming Dynasty and the beginning of Qing Dynasty. The old location was near previous old port cannel (today’s Dayou St.) In the 51st year of Emperor Qianlong in Qing Dynasty (1786), Military Officer Chen, Bang-Guang suggested to relocate Longshan Temple to current location. After that, Longshan Temple has been renovated five times in the 60th year of Emperor Qianlong in Qing Dynasty (1795), 9th year of Emperor Daoguang in Qing Dynasty (1829), 2nd year of Emperor Xianfeng in Qing Dynasty (1852), the 11th year of Emperor Showa (1936), and the 75th year of the R.O.C. (1986) respectively. In 1983, Longshan Temple was appointed as the first-class historic site.
    Longshan Temple measures more than 5289 square meters; it has the layout of three main structures, two yards, and seven shop widths. From the front to the back, it is Shanmen (the main gate), Wumen Hall (including the Stage), Main Hall (including the sacrificial hall), and Hou-Dian (the back Hall). The ceiling structure above the Stage in Longshan Temple is the best work in Taiwan; it was build during the reconstruction in the 11th year of Emperor Daoguang in Qing Dynasty (1831) and has the longest history among all preservation works in Taiwan. The Eight Trigrams Ceilings was built at the Stage area to create resonance effects during plays; besides the “Eight Trigrams (read as “Bagua”)” also has the meanings of keeping down evils and asking for safety.

  • LuGang Mazu Temple

    Lukang Tianhou Temple was built in the end of Ming Dynasty and the beginning of Qing Dynasty; the temple enshrines Goddess Mazu, which was one of tutelary gods for people in Minnan area in early days. In the 3rd year of Emperor Yongzheng in Qing Dynasty (1725), Shi, Shi-bang contributed the place and relocated the Mazu Temple to current location in today.
    The Tianhou Temple was renovated in the 13th year of Emperor Tongzhi in Qing Dynasty (1874) and the 11th year of Emperor Showa (1936) in succession. Today’s temple appearance is the pattern and layout from the renovation in the 11th year of Emperor Showa. The temple was appointed as the third-class historic site in 1985 and a Mazu Folk Art Hall was established in 1992.
    Tianhou Temple still preserves the “Shen Zhao Hai Biao” horizontal inscribed board bestowed by Emperor Yongzheng, the “Shen Zhao Hai Biao” horizontal inscribed board bestowed by Emperor Qianlong, the “Yu Tian Tong Gong” horizontal inscribed board bestowed by Emperor Guangxu, and horizontal inscribed boards presented by Fujian Governor Shao-Lan Wang, Lukang officers Lan-Pei Wang and Shou-Ming Sun, and Fujian Land Route Prefect Wen-Mo Xu. All are Lukang Tianhou Temple’s very important cultural assets.
    The temple has the layout of three structures and two yards; it has front Hall (Sanchuan Hall), main Hall, and back Hall. Sanchuan Hall has five shop widths' structure pattern; it has Eight Trigrams Door at both sides. Main door’s space extends inward and forms an “Au-Shou” pattern, creating a gradational space aesthetic for Sanchuan Hall. The stone carvings and wood carvings in Sanchuan Hall were made of exquisite carving skills; those are hailed as one of the most delicate works in Taiwan by the academic circles. Tianhou Temple’s splendid stone window carvings, protruding dragon and tiger stone carvings, and delicate color drawing and woodcarvings on building frames are great master’s crafts that worth you to taste slowly.

  • Lugang Old Street

    Putou street, Yaolin street and Dayou street in Lukang town.
    Yaolin street and Putou street were business centers in the old Lukang; in the present day, they have been included in the ancient monument protection area. Walking on the red bricks, there is no noisy traffic and the tourists slow down their footsteps to stroll on the red bricks, immerse themselves in the literary and historical studios and seek childhood memories in the traditional shops. The ancient buildings, the old artifacts that repel evil spirits as well as the scrolls at the side reveal the life pace and style in the old days. As the tourism industry prospers in recent years, some house owner began to sell folk artworks, representing the new style of the old streets. While the tourists are reminiscent of the old time, there are more places to stop by.

  • Lugang Folk Art Museum

    During Japanese Occupation, Gu Xian-rong set up “De-he-hang” at Taipei to conduct development of salt field, and trade of table salt and camphor. Then, Gu Family and Chen Family of Kaohsiung, Lin Family of Banqiao, Lin Family of Wufeng, and Yan Family of Keelung were listed as Top Five Families of Taiwan. In 8th Year of Japanese Emperor Taisho (1919), Gu Xian-rong constructed official residence at Lukang, and in 9th Year of Japanese Emperor Showa (1934) Gu Xian-rong was elected as the first congressman to House of Nobility with Viceroy House in Taiwan.
    Lukang Folk Arts’ Museum used to be the official residence of Gu Xian-rong, an architecture of “mixed styles,” and its outlook is found with pillar of European Renaissance, Mazer roof-top and bell-tower on two sides, while external wall is paved with expensive tiles. As for western pillars, it is done with washed granolithic finish, demonstrating 3-D sensation. As such, it is considered as the most refined luxurious mansion at Lukang during Japanese Occupation, and locals call the western building as “Dahe.”
    On 10th November 1973, brothers of Gu Chen-fu and Gu Wei-fu (sons of Gu Xian-rong) set up “Lukang Folk Arts Museum Foundation” to propagate folk culture. When the Folk Arts Museum was first set up, Gu Family donated related exhibits, and received overwhelming responses from locals. In total, there are more than 6,000 collections within Folk Arts Museum ,for exhibition, either from donation or loan exhibition. The Folk Arts Museum occupies land size measuring 1,400 pings, and there are 9 exhibition halls within the building, respectively displaying literature and photos, costume and decor, aria and musical instruments, religion and rituals, dining utensils, and calligraphy and paintings and other exhibits.

  • Lugang Wu Duen-Hou Lantern Workshop

    The Lantern Master, Mr. Wu Dunhou was granted the National Cultural Heritage Award in 1988. Mr. Wu has been making lanterns with the traditional method for more than 60 years. His works are refined and neat, renowned as national folk art treasure. His works are presented to public officials and entrepreneurs worldwide.

  • Taiwan Glass Gallery

    Taiwan Glass Gallery is established in Changhua Coastal Industrial Park by Taiwan Mirror Glass Enterprise Company Limited, and it mainly displays various kinds of glass artworks, household glassware, and industrial glass made with glass.
    The primary functions of the gallery are found into three halls, respectively as glass information hall, arts hall, and household product halls. In total, these three halls provide 34 theme areas free of admission to general public. A great number of people have paid visit to it, and are most amazed and wholly refreshed with their views with applications of glass as it has combined creation from ecology of mountain and river ecology of Taiwan, culture and arts, and household furniture. As such, these works have broken loose icy, and fragile image of glass upon general mass.
    Aside from static display, the museum will also, from time to time, invite glass craftsman to conduct performance at the site. At parent and children experience zone, there are shining color beads, glass painting, and glass musical instruments, and visitors are welcome to take fun with glass beads so that they can experience the wonder of glass with their hands, feet, ears, nose, and eyes. It is definitely a place worthy for visitors to come and savor the beauty of glass.

  • Ribbon Museum

    Many colorful mesh bells and their producing process are on display in the park. Your visit unveils the mysterious Taiwanese traditional industry. Come, explore its one-way producing process, and experience the strength of the traditional industry. There is also DIY works that releases innovation and imagination for the understanding of their mysterious producing process. The tourist value is as wonderful as expected. Welcome to the park for a journey of knowledge, sensitivity, diversity and flow.

  • Rainbow Military Village

    Rainbow Military Dependents’ Village is renowned for the beautiful paintings that grace the walls of the buildings. All of the artworks are completed by veteran, Mr. Huang, who was born in Hong Kong and was a staunch anti-Communist in Mainland China. After the Kuomintang (KMT), the ruling party of R.O.C., lost the Chinese Civil War, he retreated to Taiwan with the KMT military and began living in this village permanently. In 2008, he came up with the idea of painting the walls of his village in various colors. Starting from his house, he gradually painted house by house until he had finished the whole block. There is no particular theme. Aircrafts, pandas, buffalos, birds or anything he finds in the newspapers have become inspiration for Mr. Huang.

The Feature of Taiwan Taxi

  • Professional driver-guides with an average experience of 5 years.
  • GPS dispatch + 3G (GPS, GPRS, GIS) taxi service + 24-hour monitoring service for riding safety.
  • Largest brand/number of taxi (around 6,000 taxis) available for service and largest scale of operation with service provided in Taiwan.
  • SOS emergency assistance.

Price Includes

  • Chinese-Speaking driver-guide service.
  • Roundtrip Taipei hotel/downtown area transfer.
  • Price is based on distance by per car and maximum seating capacity for 4 passengers.
  • Executing compulsory insurance up to NT$ 16 million/p.car. And each passenger will be insured accidental insurance of NT$ 2 million and accidental medical insurance of NT$ 200 thousand.

Extra Cost Items

  • Meal plan, souvenir, ★admission fee and gratuity ($20-30/p.car recommended)
  • Extended Hours(if need): $30/p.hour/p.car
  • English/Japanese-Speaking driver-guide can be requested. ($40/p.car)
  • Escort Tour Guide service : $45/p.car
  • All rates are not valid during the 2020 CHINESE NEW YEAR. Price will be increased $45 for each tour period 24Jan-29Jan 2020.

Important Notes

  • Please provide your booking# and passport copy when you get in taxi.
  • Majestic Vacations reserves the right to amend itinerary and price.
  • Taiwan Taxi reserves the right to substitute, alter or modify the tour if any unexpected and unforeseen conditions beyond our control preventing the completion of such. Conditions can include weather, traffic jam, traffic accident and car equipment problems.

Cancellation Policy

  • 100% penalty ,7 days or less days prior to departure.
  • $30 penalty up to 8 days before prior to departure.
Back Order Online